If you would like your book reviewed please contact us at caligirlreviews@hotmail.com

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Shinob II: Struggle for Balance by Sessha Batto

What price freedom…

…when fear and self-loathing threaten to upend the hard fought struggle to find meaning and safety in a world fraught with danger.

Yoshi seeks time and space, only to find himself once more at the mercy of power mongers and despots. When Makoto finds him, Yoshi is broken in more than body. Near death, his spirit recedes to find safety within, locking out all who care.

They say time will heal…

…but the path to acceptance is never easy, the roadblocks many and none will emerge unscathed as Yoshi embarks on a … Struggle for Balance.
Yoshi is one of the most beautiful characters I have ever had the priviledge of reading! It takes a beautiful soul to write Yoshi with the caring and sensitivity shown by Sessha Batto, and from what I know about Sessha, Yoshi definitely came from the heart. I am dedicating this review to a friend who I believe emulates Yoshi's in soul and spirit. I hope that his journey in life only brings him the benefits of that beautiful soul and not the trials that Yoshi had to face. Thank you "Kush" for sharing your light with me. 
When I read the first Shinobi I fell in love with Yoshi's beautiful spirit and the exquisite agony and ecstacy of his story. I was not sure what more there was to be said in book 2, but I was more than happy to be able to find out more about Yoshi and his story. Once I picked up the tale I was again caught up in the beautiful Japanese tapestry that Sessha Batto weaves.

Yoshi's selfless spirit and giving nature once again lead him through a destructive maze of insidious characters that would one again do him unconscionable harm. This very nature that leads him down the path pf destruction has, however won him powerful friends and allies that will stop at nothing to deliver him from the pain and suffering he finds himself in.

Here comes my warning; The Shinobi books are graphic and vivid in excruciating detail! Yoshi deals with issues of self hatred and loathing after years of abuse. There is further and much more stark abuse in this second volume to the Shinobi series and if you are squemish about non consent and mutilation scenes in any way I will say this is probably not for you. Also be aware that the Shinobi series is a homoeroic series, but I will add that the love in these books is beautifully depicted, with reverence and sensitivity. It was a love that made my heart ache, and it was this that endeared me so fully to this series.

Sessha Batto's writing style conveys simple beauty and she easily transports me to a very traditional, though modern day Japan where the way of the ninja is still observed and quiet traditions are still prevalent.

Struggle for balance absolutely gripped me for the entire novel length! I picked it up and never put it down until it was done. I am so looking forward to more wonderful works by Sessha Batto!

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Hot, sexy Freebies Episode 1

I am always looking for a good bargain so I thought I would share the hottest free reads I have read this week.

Book 1 in the Dance series. Robbed of her self-esteem during a loveless marriage, recently divorced Lyssa Markham allows her best friend to drag her, costumed as Salome, to a masquerade. She's shocked then intrigued to discover the participants are members of an exclusive sex club. Hiding behind her mask, she permits her long-submerged sensual side to re-emerge as erotic sights and sounds bombard her. Seeing a darkly sexy gladiator inspires her to dance for him, seductively removing one veil at a time until she falls naked into his hot embrace.Days later, she learns her ex has neglected to fulfill an urgent financial stipulation in the divorce decree. Unable to reach him, she storms into his lawyer's office to resolve the problem and comes face to face with her gladiator. His first words, "Lift up your skirt…Salome."Robert Savidge is everything a woman could want—rich, handsome, successful. Should she obey her impulse and run from him? Or can she find the courage to explore her nascent sensuality with this man who so obviously wants to teach her?

I absolutely LOVED this book! The characters are honest, heart warming and real, and as a divorcee in her thirties I can totally relate to this story. It is the first Cris Anson book I have read and I will be reading many more after. The dangerous part is that now I am MUST read the rest of the series :)

3586 Kindle locations

The Shareem: Males created to be tall, muscled, sexy, and...enhanced. They come in one of three levels--pure sensual pleasure, games and wicked fun, or the ultimate barbarian complete with whip. They know how to bring a woman to ecstasy and exactly how to keep her there.When Lady Talan d'Urvey reads the diary of a woman who spent one wicked week with a Shareem, she longs to experience the same carnality in one last fling before she takes her vow of celibacy. She goes in search of a Shareem and finds Rees, tall and blond, with Shareem-blue eyes. Just looking into those eyes makes Talan wild with need.But Rees is a Shareem experiment that never should have been made. Rees is all the Shareem levels rolled into one, and then some. Rees is uncontrollable, Rees is unpredictable. Even Rees's creators could never, ever be sure exactly what he would do...

Note: The Tales of the Shareem stories are hot, hot, hot! Read with oven mitts. You have been warned.

Out of this world futuristic novels are not usually my cup of tea, but when it is free I am willing to be a bit more adventurous. In this case I am glad I did because it was an enjoyable experience. Nice concept and world building. Sweet story and super hot sex, what more could I ask for?

4267 Kindle locations

Taking friendship to a whole new level-Lacey Vaughn is tired of being dumped on by men. It-s clear she needs help in the ways of seduction. Over cappuccinos, Lacey shares her worries with pal Nick Stone. Being the good friend that he is, Nick offers to give Lacey a few pointers in the ways of sexual pleasure. From his first touch, Lacey forgets all about lessons. Now all she wants is more of his luscious body and skillful touches.Nick-s craved Lacey for months. He-s done watching her waste herself on losers. It-s time she saw him as more than the dreaded good friend. He-ll do nearly anything to have the little spitfire all for himself. But in order to get Lacey past her insecurities, Nick will have to put it all on the line-including his heart-and pray he doesn-t lose her forever.

Warning, this title contains the following: explicit sex using graphic terms. A naughty make-out session in a public place, and lots of steam.

To be honest I am only on the first page of this book, but it looks pretty good and it is a freebie so I wanted to share. It is the shortest of the lot at 1604 Kindle locations but the follow up books in the series are priced accordingly in the 2-3 Dollar range.

Thanks for reading this edition of Hot, Sexy Freebies! Please feel free to submit ideas for future editions.

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Erra by Poppet


Sarah bumps into Dustin, and is instantly smitten.

Erik wants her, and won't back down, finally revealing his true identity.

Caught in a love triangle with cosmic repercussions, Sarah represents all women when she decides to let her heart make her choice.

Love is the sweetest suffering.


First Heresy and now Erra! It seems Poppet has created a genre of her own. There are many genres I could use to try and describe Erra but none of them will fit well and accurately describe her work.

It is not often in a lifetime that an author manages to so completely change the game, to be so completely unique that if discovered they would revolutionize the literary world. Poppet is that author and Erra is but one of her amazing works.

Each time Poppet writes something new I fall in love again and I have a new favourite. Each time I think surely I cannot be surprised again, and yet I am. Each one of her works is a new experience for me as I learn new things and find new loves. Poppet does not merely write she lays out a literary smorgasbord of delights for her readers to feast on. Each nuance is carefully researched and laid before us as an offering, a sensual treat and a sensory explosion.

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Hidden Talents by Emma Holly


Werewolf cop Adam Santini is sworn to protect and serve all the supes in Resurrection, NY - including unsuspecting human Talents who wander in from Outside.

Telekinetic Ari is hot on the trail of a mysterious crime boss who wants to exploit her gift for his own evil ends, a mission that puts her on a collision course with the hottest cop in the RPD. Adam wants Blackwater too, but mostly he wants Ari. She seems to be the mate he’s been yearning for all his life, though getting a former street kid into bed with the Law could be his toughest case to date.


I wrote this review in the form of a letter to the author because that is how it started. I fell in love with the book so much I felt compelled to message her directly about it. Once I had finished I realized I might as well write a review: So here it is.

I just finished reading Hidden Talents and I truly enjoyed it. Your unique perspective was so very refreshing. You honored the traditions of were and fae yet still made it completely unique and your own. I really loved that Ari was such an incredibly realistic heroine instead of the chaste and quaking virgin. I love that she is sexually experienced and adventurous yet still appreciated by her Alpha who was absolutely perfect for a change instead of the domineering chauvanistic assholes currently popular. Don't get me wrong sometimes those are fun too as well as the whole virginal bit but sometimes just sometimes I want a little down to earth mixed in with my fantasy. I love that you were able to depict an Alpha with every trait I love including strength, loyalty, compassion, protectiveness and love. Yes ladies a real man is someone who is not afraid to be mushy infront of the guys because he realizes what is truly important in life. Adam was truly my dream man :)
I have been reading quite a bit of shifter type paranormal romance, urban fantasy stuff lately but I have to admit this book stood head and shoulders above most of what is out there right now. Emma Holly's world and concept building skills are quite impressive. There were several new character archetypes that I really liked as well as old school ones that were done very very well and true to form. An example of this is her depiction of the Fae Lord! Yes most authors will mention how beautiful they are to all other creatures, but none other than Emma Holly have truly been able to depict exactly how intoxicating their presence is to others. She absolutely nailed it! So much so that I would love to read a book about this wonderful creature and the songstress he pines for.

As a final endorsement (All sensitive souls should look away now) I have to say that Hidden Talents has some of the most fanFUCKINGtastic, hottest, steamiest, raunchiest, earth shattering and wonderfully origional sex scenes I have read in a long long time. Emma Holly gives Lora Leigh a very serious run for her money.

At 3.99 on Amazon this book is a wonderful bargain and an exceptional read.

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Blood Prophecy by Barb Jones and Jerry Wright

Amber Stone, once a child prodigy, has just become curator of a special collection of Macedonian artifacts for the Seattle Museum of
Natural History. Chloe, a prodigy of a different sort, holds a position at the museum focusing on tribal art. The two become fast friends, united by Amber’s unsettling dreams and Chloe’s unorthodox ways of dealing with them. Two strangers arrive in town, bringing with them a prophecy recorded more than three-thousand years ago, a prophecy that places Amber directly in the midst of a battle that has spanned millennia.

The first thing I noticed about Blood Prophecy is that it was incredibly in depth. By the time you finish this book you will have a very clear idea about the characters and the story behind them. Yet the authors still managed to keep the this adventure down to earth and entirely enjoyable.  The read is smooth and easy and I did not find myself struggling through lengthy chapters fighting the urge to skim. (Yes I am an impatient reader) In fact I found myself relishing every moment and savoring every word.

The next thing I noticed was that the characters are all together real and enitrely believable. I loved that Michael's character is an absolute prat and yet I still find myself rooting for him. This is a feat not easily pulled off where I am concerned so I find it very commendable. I in actual fact enjoyed every character in this novel including the dastardly ones. There were some wonderful confrontation scenes that had me wondering just how they were going to make it out of this situation and yet they did in a sometimes slighty too extraordinary flourish. The good news is that I love a good adventure no matter how improbable and Blood Prophecy is exactly that. If I wanted realism I would read a text book!

Blood Prophecy: Queen's Destiny has left itself wide open for a rip roaring series of books and I am looking forward to reading every single one of them.

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Sugar & Spice salutes the Military! Happy Hump Day

Keep your hands on your weapons boys!!!

Monday, September 5, 2011

The Demon Lover by Juliet Dark

This title will be released on December 27, 2011.

I gasped . . . or tried to. My mouth opened, but I couldn’t draw breath. . . . His lips, pearly wet, parted and he blew into my mouth. My lungs expanded beneath his weight. When I exhaled he sucked in my breath and his weight turned from cold marble into warm living flesh.

Since accepting a teaching position at remote Fairwick College in upstate New York, Callie McFay has experienced the same disturbingly erotic dream every night: A mist enters her bedroom, then takes the shape of a virile, seductive stranger who proceeds to ravish her in the most toe-curling, wholly satisfying ways possible. Perhaps these dreams are the result of writing her bestselling book, The Sex Lives of Demon Lovers. After all, Callie’s lifelong passion is the intersection of lurid fairy tales and Gothic literature—which is why she finds herself at Fairwick’s renowned folklore department, living in a once-stately Victorian house that, at first sight, seemed to call her name.

But Callie soon realizes that her dreams are alarmingly real. She has a demon lover—an incubus—and he will seduce her, pleasure her, and eventually suck the very life from her. Then Callie makes another startling discovery: He’s not the only mythical creature in Fairwick. As the tenured witches of the college and the resident fairies in the surrounding woods prepare to cast out the incubus, Callie must accomplish something infinitely more difficult—banishing this demon lover from her heart.

Victoria Holt style gothic romance meets modern day paranormal erotica!
Those of us that love this genre are fortunate enough to be experiencing a wonderful new array of urban fantasy and paranormal romance novels. We are absolutely spoiled for choice and can practically pick any fantasy our heart desires because of it. The unwanted side effect of this is that pretty much every scenario has been played, every angle has been looked at and every fantasy whim has been satisfied. There are a small group of novelists who are transcending these barriers and leading their imaginations through even wilder and darker paths to places we never imagined could exist.

The awesomely pseudonymed Juliet Dark has managed to do this and more. She has taken the glorious gothic romance genre of yesteryear and blended it with the wonderful urban fantasy and paranormal romance themes of today to create a story that left me breathless. Her storytelling is masterful and commandeering! She took me through every scene and kept me exactly where she wanted me. I felt every nuance and every emotion that Callie experienced, and when her heart was broken I felt the pain as if it were my own. The desperation and despair of her situation and the revelations that followed were so real to me that I could almost feel myself walking through the story through her.

The Demon Lover is going down as one of my best reads of the year and I believe that this book has all the goods to become a true classic of our time.